The Second Chakra – Svadhisthana Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra represents water.

Svadhishthana Sacral Chakra second chakra

The Sacral Chakra is in the sacral plexus area located in the lower abdominal. This chakra is associated with the element water and it represents desire, pleasure, sexuality and procreation. As we move up the chakra system, we change from the 1st chakra which is solid, formed earth to the 2nd chakra which is liquid, formless and ever-changing water.

The Sacral chakra represents change, fluctuation and movement.  Even it’s location in the body is related to movement. The sacral plexus is a collection of nerves located in the lower spine which control movement in the legs and pelvis. This chakra is associated with the color orange. The color orange has the second longest wavelength (635 nm) and second slowest frequency (480THz) in the visual color spectrum.

This is the chakra of emotion, sexuality, pleasure, and nurture. All of these things are fluid and ever-changing. This constant change is at once the source of pleasure and the source of pain. Many people fear change and have a tendency to grip the present moment. However, the sacral chakra teaches us that without change there can be no pleasure – for if nothing ever changed what would we have to be excited for? Without the night, what is day? Without the winter, what is summer? Without pain, what is pleasure?

You can also refer to our posts on first, third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh chakra for a detailed understanding of the seven chakras.

The Sacral Chakra

The symbol for the Sacral Chakra is a six petal lotus flower. There are also two lotus petals within the large six-petal lotus. This chakra is related to the moon. The moon, with it’s ever changing cycle, pulls on the tides of the earth creating subtle changes on earth’s residents. It is dark, mysterious and full of emotion.

Blocks in the Sacral Chakra

Blocks in the second center can lead to loss of creativity, low sexual energy, a feeling of dullness, loss of emotion, and depression. It’s easy to get trapped in the second chakra by overindulging in pleasurable things such as food, drugs, alcohol, or sex. We can also be stuck in the second center by denying ourselves pleasurable activities. For example, do you deny yourself sleep because you feel you don’t have the time? Or maybe you deny yourself food because you are tying to lose weight.

They key to opening the second chakra is to maintain balance when it comes to pleasurable, worldly things. Do not deny, but do not overindulge either.

The 2nd Chakra is associated with the Moonstone

Another way to get stuck in the second chakra is by suppressing emotions. Emotion itself is fluid – it’s ever changing and dynamic properties are perfectly represented by water. Emotions travel, by moving from the atmosphere around us, to the subconscious within us, through the conscious mind, and back out into the atmosphere in whatever way we give them off. It’s very important to keep this movement flowing. However, many people will suppress their emotions in the subconscious level. Feeling emotion can be painful, and these people choose to keep it bottled up rather than let it out and feel it’s effects.

Although this may work temporarily, it will cause problems in the future. Emotions which are stuck in the subconscious will manifest themselves in other ways – be it anger, fear, anxiety, or hatred. Meditation is an excellent way to work through emotions and allow them to rise to the surface.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings